A break from sports…

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

I sit here monday morning, excited about a huge bronco victory, and the awesome smack down laid by the Niners on Mr Gesele Bundchin , but lets be honest, sports doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things..

The actions of a monster on Friday morning in NewTown CT, was something that I honestly could never have imagined in my worst nightmares. Ive live through, Columbine, OKC bombing, 911, and Aurora colorado. All of these were horrifying acts that sent the country in a tail spin. However NONE of them compare to the slaying of 20 Innocent children, and 6 amazing teachers who sacrificed their lives so that others could be spared.

I will admit to you, that this tragedy hit me harder then all the others. I don’t have any children, but I have a 5 year old nephew, who I love like my own son, and taking one look at his smiling face, makes me thing of those lost on Friday. Vibrant, innocent, beautiful children are lost and I wept like they were my own.

I did not know any of them, and have no connection to NewTown Connecticut, but this will forever impact my life, and they way I live it. Life if a gift, nothing is guaranteed . So I beg you, Hug your kids  little tighter, tell them you love them and live each day like it could be your last.

Sports are a wonderful distraction from the trials and tribulations of real life, but it is just that, a distraction, life is waiting for you when you after that final whistle.

Leave a Reply

